## MINUTES OF A REGULAR BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW HOLSTEIN NEW HOLSTEIN, WISCONSIN

April 16, 2012

The meeting was called to order by President, Kathy Fett. Other School Board members present were Barb Roepke, Brenda Lefeber, Jeff Hebl, Oscar Beilke, Don Turba and Larry Petrie. Administrators present were Bill Van Meer, Joan Steiner, Rick Amundson, Kathy Kops, Ty Maki, Dale Mueller and Becky Hansen. Others present were Sue Klapperich, Mark Sherry, Kim Olson, Doug Kestell and students Kaine Mertens, Brianna Meyer, Owen Olson, Kaylee Warner, Stephanie Schumacher, Jolene Halbach, Taylor Blanck and Haley Behlke.

Fett verified that a notice of the meeting was legally publicized on April 12, 2012. This was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Academic Spotlight featured a "Project Citizen" presentation by Middle School Students entitled "Every Child Deserves a School Nurse". No other citizen spoke during the Hearing of Individuals.

Motion by Turba, seconded by Hebl to approve action items and report items on the consent agenda as stated except for approval of High School Fees for the 2012-2013 school year. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Petrie, seconded by Hebl to approve action items and report items on the consent agenda as stated except for approval of the Youth Option requests. (Carried 7-0.)

Action items approved on consent agenda include:

- Agenda for April Board of Education meeting as submitted for publication
- Minutes: Regular Board of Education of March 19, 2012.
- April 2012 finance committee minutes and March financial statement, payroll and invoices for payment.

 Total Revenues for March 2012
 \$ 1,526,632.49

 Expenditures for March 2012
 \$ 879,360.53

 Fund Balance (All Funds) March 2012
 \$ 4,351,501.94

- Approve Middle and Elementary student fees for the 2012-2013 school year
- Approve increase of 5 cents per meal in the Child Nutrition Lunch Program for 2012-2013.
- Approve High School Student Handbook for 2012-2013.
- Accept resignation of Melissa Mateske (High School Agriculture Teacher) at the conclusion of the 2011-2012 school year
- Approve summer contracts for Drivers Education Teacher, High School Guidance Counselors, German Trip Advisor, Marching Band Director and Agriculture Instructor
- Authorize District Administrator to issue 2012-2013 Co-Curricular contracts as needed
- Buildings and Grounds Committee Report

Discussion held on co-curricular /athletic fees for high school students. Motion by Petrie, seconded by Hebl to approve an increase to \$40.00 for co-curricular and athletic fees per activity for high school students. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Lefeber, seconded by Turba to approve the extended teacher medical leave request for the current school year. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Beilke, seconded by Lefeber to approve 2012 Summer Curriculum Projects as recommended by Instructional Services Director, Joan Steiner. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Hebl, seconded by Lefeber, to approve the second reading of School Board Policies 345.6 Graduation Requirements, 345.6AR Awarding Graduation Credits, 345.6 Exhibit Student Community Service Form (delete), 454 Child Abuse and Neglect, 454AR Child Abuse and Neglect, 752 Use of District Vehicles, 752AR Use of District Vehicles, 260 AR Temporary Administrative Arrangements. (Carried 7-0.)

Additional reports and items reviewed:

- Jeff Hebl will accept the "Class of 2012" at the high school's graduation on June 10, 2012 Awarding diplomas will be Roepke, Hebl and Turba.
- Top Ten Students in the "Class of 2012" are Joshua Kluever, Amanda Rose, Sarah Bertram, Alyssa Holterman, Nicole Schneider, Cassandra Schmitz, Matthew Diederichs, Joel Feider, Ambrose Lisowe III, and Colette Nickodem.
- Administrative Reports of Amundson, Kops, Maki, and Steiner
- District Administrator's Report
- Legislative Report Van Meer
- Brenda Lefeber was tentative appointed as representative to CESA #7 Board of Control Annual meeting
- Kathy Fett and Doug Kestell (write-In) were elected to the Board of Education for a three year period. Each signed their oaths of office.
- Minutes of Policy Committee meeting of March 19, 2012
- First readings for School Board Policies 425 Public School Open Enrollment and 370 Exhibit Co-Curricular Code

The Board thanked Oscar Beilke for his nine years as a Board of Education member for the School District of New Holstein and presented him with a plaque recognizing him for his dedication and service.

Motion by Hebl, seconded by Petrie to adjourn to closed session in accordance with SS 19.85 (1)(c) to consider employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of employees. Roll call vote taken. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Hebl, seconded by Lefeber to return to open session.	(Carried 7-0.)
No official action was taken during closed session.	

Motion by Beilke, seconded by Turba to adjourn. (Carried 7-0.)

Barb Roepke, Clerk	Sue Klapperich, Acting Secretary