MINUTES OF A REGULAR BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW HOLSTEIN NEW HOLSTEIN, WISCONSIN

April 22, 2013

The meeting was called to order by President, Jeff Hebl. Other School Board members present were Larry Petrie, Brenda Lefeber, Don Turba, Kathy Fett, John Shackleton and Doug Kestell. School Administrators present were Bill Van Meer, Joan Steiner, Rick Amundson, Rod Figueroa, Ty Maki and Becky Hansen. Others present were Sue Klapperich, Mark Sherry, Andrea Rhoades, Ryan Metko, Lesa Hubbartt, Peter Hofmeister, Matt Rupp, Michelle Heeg, John Bertram, Jim Walber, Sue Schultz, Riley Houdek, Megan Flaskrud, Bradley Guell, Aly Flaskrud, Amber Olson, Hailee Lefeber, Josh Gleason, Steve Steiner, Teagan Turba, Vernon Gleason and Renee Casper.

Hebl verified that a notice of the meeting was legally publicized on April 17, 2013. This was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

During the Hearing of Individuals, John Bertram and Jim Walber, representing the FFA Alumni, voiced concern regarding on the possible reduction of high school classes in the Agriculture area. Both expressed a need to maintain a full-time teacher in order to improve the program.

Steve Steiner, Athletic Director, requested to be allowed to schedule athletic events on Wednesdays for the balance of the school year due to the many cancellations required this spring. The Board agreed that the Administration would be given the authority to approve any activities rescheduled for a Wednesday.

Academic Spotlight featured two "Project Citizen" presentations by Middle School students. The first was titled "Go Green and Stay Clean" by seventh grade students, Amber Olson, Teagn Turba, Hailee Lefeber, Brad Guell and Josh Gleason. The second was "Give Us a Break" by seventh grade students, Megan Flaskrud and Riley Houdek.

John Shackleton and Donald Turba were elected to the Board of Education for a three year period. Each signed their oaths of office.

Election of Board of Education Officers for the 2013-2014 school year was held.

For President: The nomination ballot nominated Hebl, Fett and Turba for president. The official voting ballot showed six (6) votes for Hebl and one (1) vote for Turba. Hebl received the majority vote thereby being declared the president.

At this time Hebl assumed the duties of President of the Board of Education.

For Vice President: The nomination ballot nominated Fett, Turba and Petrie for vice president. The official voting showed five (5) votes for Fett and one (1) vote for Turba and one (1) for Petrie. Fett received the majority vote thereby being declared the vice president.

For Treasurer: The nomination ballot nominated Petrie, Turba and Kestell for treasurer. The official voting ballot showed four (4) votes for Petrie and two (2) votes for Kestell and one (1) vote for Turba. Petrie received the majority vote thereby being declared the treasurer.

For Clerk: The nomination ballot nominated Turba, Lefeber and Kestell for clerk. The official voting ballot showed four (4) votes for Lefeber, two (2) votes for Turba and one (1) vote for Kestell. Lefeber received the majority vote thereby being declared the clerk.

For Deputy Clerk: The nomination ballot nominated Kestell and Turba for deputy clerk. The official voting ballot showed four (4) votes for Kestell and three (3) votes for Turba. Kestell received the majority vote thereby being declared the deputy clerk.

Motion by Shackleton, seconded by Turba to set the regular Board of Education meetings for 2013-2014 to be on the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Media Center (Library) of the New Holstein High School. (Carried 7-0).

Motion by Turba, seconded by Lefeber to declare Tri-County News as the official newspaper for the School District of New Holstein for the 2013-2014 school year. (Carried 7-0).

President Hebl made the following appointments:

Teacher Negotiations Committee: Fett (Chairperson), Kestell and Shackleton.

Support Staff and Administrative Compensation Committee: Petrie (Chairperson), Hebl and Lefeber.

Policy Committee: Lefeber (Chairperson), Fett and Shackleton.

Finance Committee: Petrie (Chairperson), Kestell and Hebl.

Buildings and Grounds Committee: Kestell (Chairperson), Turba and Hebl.

Lefeber was appointed as the representative from the School District of New Holstein to the CESA #7 annual convention held in May.

Hebl, as President of the Board of Education, accepted the appointment as the TIF district representative for the 2013-2014 school year.

Hebl accepted the appointments as the WASB Legislative representative, WASB Delegate Assembly representative and New Holstein Economic Development Corporation meeting representative.

Dr. Denis Pleviak of New Holstein was appointed as the official medical advisor for the School District for the 2013-2014 school year.

Motion by Shackleton, seconded by Petrie to approve action items and report items on the consent agenda as stated except for approval of Issuance of Individual Teachers Contracts, approval of Support Staff Handbook and approval of 2013-2014 High School Handbook. (Carried 7-0.)

Action items and report items approved on consent agenda include:

- Agenda for April 22, 2013 Board of Education meeting as submitted for publication
- Minutes: Regular Board of Education meeting of March 18, 2013.
- April 2013 Finance committee minutes and March financial statement, payroll and invoices for payment.

Total Revenues for March 2013 \$ 1,577,401.39 Expenditures for March 2013 \$ 1,111,980.46 YTD Balance (All Funds) March 2013 \$ 4,618,545.93

- Summer Curriculum Work
- Participation in the 2013-2014 National School Lunch and Breakfast Program and Federal Special Milk Program
- Participation in the Wisconsin Morning Milk Program for the 2013-2014 school year
- Increase in School Lunch Prices as recommended for 2013-2014 school year
- 2013-2014 CESA 7 Contract for provided services.
- Bid of Diversified Benefit Services for Flex Plan Administrator
- Resignation of High School Math Teacher Kathy Frisch
- Summer High School Contracts: Extended Agriculture Contract, Summer Band Instructor, Summer Drivers Education Instructor
- Administrative Reports of Steiner, Figueroa, Amundson and Maki

Motion by Turba, seconded by Petrie to approve Support Staff Handbook and 2013-2014 High School Student Handbook with changes as recommended. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Petrie, seconded by Fett to approve the resignation of High School Science Teacher, Rebecca Hansen. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Petrie, seconded by Lefeber to approve the preliminary 2013-2014 budget as presented by Business Manager, Becky Hansen. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Kestell, seconded by Lefeber to approve the proposed Teacher Alternative Compensation Model. (Carried 7-0.) The Board also thanked all participants of the committee that worked diligently on this proposal.

Brenda Lefeber will accept the "Class of 2013" at the high school's graduation on Friday, June 7, 2013. Awarding diplomas will be Hebl, Lefeber and Kestell.

Motion by Petrie, seconded by Kestell to adjourn to closed session in accordance with SS 19.85 (1)(c) to consider employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of an employee. Roll call vote taken. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Shackleton, seconded by Kestell to return to open session. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Kestell, seconded by Petrie to approve issuance of individual teacher contracts as recommended. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Turba, seconded by Shackleton to adjourn. (Carried 7-0.)

Brenda Lefeber, Clerk	Sue Klapperich, Acting Secretary