## MINUTES OF A REGULAR BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW HOLSTEIN NEW HOLSTEIN, WISCONSIN

May 19, 2014

The meeting was called to order by President, Tim Stadler. Other School Board members present were Brenda Lefeber, Doug Kestell, Don Turba, Katie Schnell and Jodie Goebel. Absent: John Shackleton. School Administrators present were Bill Van Meer, Rick Amundson, Rod Figueroa, Ty Maki, Tanya Fenner, Tim Schmahl and Becky Hansen. Others present were Sue Klapperich, Mark Sherry, Andrea Rhoades, Nicole Fiedler, Sienna Compton, Beth Allcox, Kim Sesing, Jenna Sesing, Jon Sesing, Steve Steiner, Dianne Reese, Will Pethan, Michelle Knatzke, Dorothy Schreiber, Robert Draeger, Heather Tomchek, Amanda Christel, Dennis Freund, Rodel Magtanong, Colton Davis, Zachary Halbach, Mary Beth Halbach, Ann Freund, Sandy Schaefer, Norm Lemke, Mike Schmitz, Skylar Anderson, Jake Gifford, Joshua Dewhurst, Emily Kramp, Alex Knatzke, Hailey Pickart, Gabrielle Barth, Timothy Warner, Seth Ford, Sam Schaefer, Luke Halbach, Adam Freund, Even Petrie, Hallie Lemke, Lori Lemke, Brittany Lemke, Renee Casper, and Stuart Dewhurst.

Stadler verified that a notice of the meeting was legally publicized on May 15, 2014. This was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Board recognized and awarded past president, Jeff Hebl, with a plaque for his 12 years of dedication and service to the School District of New Holstein.

No one spoke during the Hearing of Individuals.

Heather Tomchek's 7<sup>th</sup> Grade Project Citizens students, namely, Gabrielle Barth, Josh Dewhurst, Seth Ford, Adam Freund, Max Freund, Jacob Gifford, Kayla Guelig, Luke Halbach, Alexandria Knatzke, Emily Kramp, Hallie Lemke, Evan Petrie, Sam Schaefer and Connor Schroeder recently were awarded first place at State for their presentation entitled "Trackortunity". In their presentation before the Board, the students requested formation of a Middle School track team and well as a need to repair/resurface the present High School track.

Motion by Kestell, seconded by Goebel to approve action items and report items on the consent agenda as published except for request to approve tile replacement bids for Elementary classrooms. (Carried 6-0.) After discussion, motion by Turba, seconded by Lefeber to approve consent agenda as presented and published. (Carried 6-0.)

Action items and report items approved on consent agenda include:

- Agenda for May 19, 2014 Board of Education meeting as submitted for publication
- Minutes: Regular Board of Education meeting of April 28, 2014.
- May 2014 Finance committee minutes and March financial statement, payroll and invoices for payment.

Total Revenues for April 2014 \$ 219,998.38 Expenditures for April 2014 \$ 1,010,556.94 YTD Balance (All Funds) April 2014 \$ 2,696,826.92

• Board Committee are as follows:

Teacher Negotiations Committee: Stadler (Chairperson), Kestell and Shackleton Support Staff and Admin Compensation Committee: Stadler (Chair), Schnell and Lefeber

Policy Committee: Lefeber (Chairperson), Schnell and Shackleton Finance Committee: Turba (Chairperson), Kestell and Goebel

Buildings and Grounds Committee: Kestell (Chairperson), Turba and Goebel

Delegate to the WASB Assembly: Open

Representative to CESA #7 Annual Convention – Lefeber New Holstein Economic Development Corp Rep: Stadler

- Voluntary Short Term Disability Insurance Carrier National Insurance Services
- Elementary, Middle and High School student fees for 2014-2015
- Bid from Tony's Installation Service of Kiel for tile replacement of Elementary School Classrooms
- Resignations: Janet Koerner Speech & Language Therapist, and Charles Lefeber Assistant Varsity Football Coach
- Co-Yearbook Advisor for 2014-2015 Lori Vanden Boom
- Summer School contracts for teachers and aides.
- Issuance of Co-Curricular contracts as needed by the District Administrator
- Summer Curriculum Projects
- Approve/Deny Open Enrollment requests as presented
- Approve Middle School Handbook changes as presented
- 2014-2015 WIAA Membership
- Administrative Reports of Maki, Figueroa, Amundson and Fenner

The Board recognized the Top Ten Students of the "Class of 2014" namely: Jacob Dewhurst, Ryan Wagner, Abigail Brill, Denise Wiley, Nathan Schmitz, Danielle Brenner, Nathan Kaiser, Brendan Robinson, Aaron Schneider and Megan Hellmer.

Motion by Lefeber, seconded by Schnell to approve minutes of April 28, 2014 Policy Committee meeting. (Carried 6-0.)

## Other report items:

- Discussion of Weighted Grading
- Chromebook Lease
- Tech Equipment Optional Self- Insurance Replacement Plan
- CESA 7 Convention report Lefeber

Motion by Turba, seconded by Goebel to adjourn.	(Carried 6-0.)
Doug Kestell, Clerk	Sue Klapperich, Acting Secretary