MINUTES OF A REGULAR BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW HOLSTEIN NEW HOLSTEIN, WISCONSIN

May 21, 2012

The meeting was called to order by President, Kathy Fett. Other School Board members present were Larry Petrie, Barb Roepke, Brenda Lefeber, Jeff Hebl, Don Turba and Doug Kestell. School Administrators present were Bill Van Meer, Joan Steiner, Rick Amundson, Kathy Kops, Ty Maki and Becky Hansen. Others present were Sue Klapperich, Mark Sherry, Andrea Rhoades, Anne Parker, Don Parker, Greg Parker, Louis Bowe, Robert Wells and Karen Hoffman.

Fett verified that a notice of the meeting was legally publicized on May 17, 2012. This was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Academic Spotlight - Greg Parker, Youth Apprentice Award presented by representatives of the Kohler Company, Louis Bowe and Robert Wells. Also administration presented a power-point discussion for upcoming changes mandated by the Department of Public Instruction for the school's K-12 report card accountability for the Common Core Standards.

Motion by Turba, by Hebl to approve action items and report items on the consent agenda as stated except for approval of Summer School Individual Contracts, Summer Session Curriculum Projects, and 2011-2012 Collective Bargaining Agreement with the Education Association. (Carried 7-0.)

Action items and report items approved on consent agenda include:

- Agenda for May 21, 2012 Board of Education meeting as submitted for publication
- Minutes: Regular Board of Education meeting of April 16, 2012.
- May 2012 Finance committee minutes and April financial statement, payroll and invoices for payment.

Total Revenues for April 2012 \$ 665,389.63 Expenditures for April 2012 \$ 1,305,162.08 YTD Balance (All Funds) April 2012 \$ 3,638,229.64

- Participation in the 2012-2013National School Lunch and Breakfast Program and Federal Special Milk Program
- Participation in the Wisconsin Morning Milk Program for the 2012-2013 school year
- 2012-2013 CESA 7 Contract for provided services.
- Purchase of Automatic Door Lock/Reader for the main entrance at the Elementary School
- Middle School Handbook
- WIAA Membership and Fee
- Annual report of Staff Development
- Resignations of Andrea Gilson (High School English Teacher) and Sid Lucas (High School Science Teacher) and Kurt Rasmussen (Freshmen Football Assistant Coach)
- Hiring High School Agriculture Teacher (Michelle Heeg) pending background check and drug test
- Approve Open Enrollment requests as recommended based on information received from resident or nonresident school districts.

Motion by Turba, seconded by Hebl to approve the 2011-2012 Collective Bargaining Agreement with the Education Association. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Petrie, seconded by Lefeber to approve the 2012 Summer Curriculum Projects as requested. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Petrie, seconded by Roepke to move for discussion the approval of Summer School Contracts to executive session. (Carried 7-0.)

Election of Board of Education Officers for the 2012-2013 school year was held.

For President: The nomination ballot nominated Roepke, Hebl and Fett for president. The official voting ballot showed four (4) votes for Hebl and three (3) votes for Roepke. Hebl received the majority vote thereby being declared the president.

At this time Hebl assumed the duties of President of the Board of Education.

For Vice President: The nomination ballot nominated Fett, Roepke, Turba and Lefeber for vice president. The official voting showed six (6) votes for Fett and one (1) vote for Turba. Fett received the majority vote thereby being declared the vice president.

For Treasurer: The nomination ballot nominated Petrie, Turba, Roepke and Lefeber for treasurer. The official voting ballot showed five (5) votes for Petrie and two (2) votes for Lefeber. Petrie received the majority vote thereby being declared the treasurer.

For Clerk: The nomination ballot nominated Roepke, Turba and Lefeber for clerk. The official voting ballot showed four (4) votes for Lefeber, two (2) votes for Roepke and one (1) vote for Turba. Lefeber received the majority vote thereby being declared the clerk.

For Deputy Clerk: The nomination ballot nominated Roepke and Turba for deputy clerk. The official voting ballot showed four (4) votes for Roepke and three (3) votes for Turba. Roepke received the majority vote thereby being declared the deputy clerk.

Motion by Petrie, seconded by Lefeber to set the regular Board of Education meetings for 2012-2013 to be on the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Media Center (Library) of the New Holstein High School. (Carried 7-0).

Motion by Fett, seconded by Turba to declare Tri-County News as the official newspaper for the School District of New Holstein for the 2012-2013 school year. (Carried 7-0).

Motion by Turba, seconded by Petrie to accept the appointment of Barb Roepke as the representative for the School District of New Holstein as the delegate to the WASB Assembly. No alternate was appointed.

President Hebl made the following appointments:

Teacher Negotiations Committee: Fett (Chairperson), Hebl and Kestell.

Support Staff and Administrative Compensation Committee: Petrie (Chairperson), Roepke and Lefeber.

Policy Committee: Roepke (Chairperson), Lefeber and Kestell.

Finance Committee: Petrie (Chairperson), Fett and Turba.

Buildings and Grounds Committee: Kestell (Chairperson), Turba and Hebl.

Lefeber was appointed as the representative from the School District of New Holstein to the CESA #7 annual convention held in May.

Hebl, as President of the Board of Education, accepted the appointment as the TIF district representative for the 2012-2013 school year.

Hebl accepted the appointment as the WASB Legislative representative.

Hebl accepted the appointment as representative to the New Holstein Economic Development Corporation.

Dr. Denis Pleviak of New Holstein was appointed as the official medical advisor for the School District for the 2012-2013 school year.

Motion by Lefeber, seconded by Petrie to approve the Preliminary 2012-2013 budget as presented by Business Manager, Becky Hansen. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Turba, seconded by Fett to approve the second reading of School Board Policy 425 – Public School Open Enrollment. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Petrie, seconded by Kestell to approve the second reading of School Board Policy Exhibit 370.1 Co-Curricular Code. (Carried 7-0.)

Other items of interest included:

- CESA 7 Convention report Lefeber
- Legislative Report Van Meer

Motion by Roepke, seconded by Petrie to adjourn to closed session in accordance with SS 19.85 (1)(c) to consider employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of an employee. Roll call vote taken. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Petrie, seconded by Turba to return to open session. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Kestell, seconded by Lefeber to approve Summer School contracts with the exception of the Drivers' Education Aide. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Fett, seconded by Kestell to adjourn.	(Carried 7-0.)	

Brenda Lefeber, Clerk	Sue Klapperich, Acting Secretary